Здорова!

6

August 25, 2012 by dsalkowski

As I’m greeting you, I am also saying a temporary farewell to the state “that flies with her own wings,” which is apparently how Oregon’s Latin motto translates.  While I’m not sure what the hell that means, it has been a wonderful summer here in Portland, and so it is a somewhat bittersweet goodbye, as can also be said for the one I bid to my family’s home in Charleston, as they move on to Long Beach over the next couple of months. I have spent the morning listening to Scriabin’s preludes and browsing images by the Russian передвижники (Itinerants) and other proponents of Russian Impressionism (for lack of a better label) to use as a background image for this blog – I have selected a painting of Boris Kustodiev’s – in preparation for my upcoming semester in St. Petersburg, Russia.  I’ll be studying in a language intensive program through Lewis & Clark college, where I minor in Russian, for the next few months.  The ensuing posts will be more substantive, but I wanted to briefly acquaint you with my situation and thank you for indulging me by reading this blog (the title of which comes from a Bob Dylan tune, by the way).  I have bought my snow boots and winter coat, and I have received my visa in the mail, so my final task is to tackle the final two hundred pages of War and Peace before leave one the land of the good ole’ red, white, and blue for another. Thanks for reading, and stay tuned for some words and images from St. Pete in a couple weeks!

6 thoughts on “Здорова!

  1. Patti Salkowski says:

    I am really looking forward to your comments and pictures about your adventures in Russia. Safe travels till you return home.

  2. The painting you chose is beautiful! I really look forward to hearing more!!!

  3. Also, how do you like War and Peace?

  4. Kate says:

    The blog looks great, and I’m so excited to hear about your adventures! Make sure you post your address, so we can spam you with postcards.

  5. Barb Erickson says:

    David have a wonderful time learning lots of new things! I am sure it will be different there than it is here! I also will be looking forward to the information and pictures you will be posting on here! Have a wonderful time!

Leave a Reply

